Dirt Drivers 171 Active Users
Register Now  |  Log In
Home   Message Boards   Classifieds   Dirt Driver Directory(tm)   Race Results   Rainout Report(tm)
Login  |   Register Now  |   Memberships  |   Links  |   Chat Room  |   Apparel  |   Advertising  |   Suggestion Box  |   About Us

View Advertiser Index
Message Board
I-80 Speedway (NE)
Post a New Response
Return to Message Board Subjects

Subject: Highlights from Nebraska Corn Growers Night 7/10/20
Posted byMessage

I-80 Speedway Rep
Posted on 7/11/2020 12:29:17 AM

Krug, Tilley, Sobbing, Peterson, Purchase, Kracht, Vannausdle, and Adamy take Top Honors on Corn Growers Night
By Anthony Ainslie

Weekly racing was back on at I-80 Speedway Friday night as Nebraska Corn Growers presented round three of NASCAR racing in Greenwood.
Six of the seven weekly racing divisions were in action for the speedway’s third Friday night of weekly racing. The modifieds had the week off, but in their place came the Good Ol’ Time Racing Association.
The super late model feature went caution free for 25 laps straight. Josh Krug took the lead on the opening lap and led throughout the majority of the race. In the waning laps of the race, Bill Leighton Jr. ran down Krug for the lead as Krug was dealing with lapped traffic.
With only three laps to go, Leighton passed Krug for the lead as they came off of turn four. Leighton had a run in with lapped car as he came down to the white flag, but he hung on and took the checkered flag.
However, a technicality during post-race inspection resulted in Krug taking the win, his first win of 2020. Ben Schaller, Tad Pospisil, John Anderson, and Nick Deal finished out the top five.
The hobby stock division had twin 13-lap features on Friday. For race one, Buddy Haidsiak led the opening four laps before Lee Kracht took over and held off a hard-charging Cheyenne Purchase to score his first win of the season. Purchase took second while Todd Mabbit, Brent Ricker and Tyler Albrecht rounded out the top five.
Kracht however, had bad luck come his way in the second feature after getting caught up in a wreck in turn four while running in second resulting in a DNF. Todd Mabbit was also involved while he ran second.
When racing resumed, Cheyenne Purchase and defending track champion Luke Ramsey went back and forth exchanging the lead lap after lap.
On the last lap, the two drag raced their way to the line, and in the end, Purchase scored the win by half a car length over Ramsey. It was Purchase’s first career win at I-80 Speedway.
Ramsey bounced back from a DNF in the first feature to finish second in the second main event. Jeremy Auten, Brent Ricker and Buddy Haidsiak rounded out the top five.
Friday’s Bragging Rights late model feature saw Jake Jorgensen take the opening lead and did all he could to fend off Andrew Tilley.
The biggest wreck of the race came out on lap six when three cars piled into each other going into turn one. Tyler Harr received heavy damage to the left side of the car taking him out of the race.
On the restart, Andrew Tilley took the lead only for Kale Kosiski to take it the next lap just before another caution came out. Tilley took the lead on the ensuing restart and would not surrender it for the rest of the race. Tilley bounced back after a late race incident the week before which took him out of a top three finish.
Tilley claimed victory for the first time at I-80 this season with Jake Bridge and Jacob Brown taking second and third. Kosiski and Todd Bell rounded out the top five.
In the Good Ol’ Time Racing Association’s feature event, Kansas native Larry Thierer took the opening lead before losing it three laps later to Darrell Doerr. The very next lap, Darrin Adamy made the charge from the back all the way to the front and took the lead from Doerr.
From that point, Adamy ran away with the show and took the win after starting in the last row. Kevin Andersen and Doerr took second and third while Larry Thierer and Carroll Adamy finished out the top five.
Friday’s stock car main event was another big victory for former sport mod track champion Jesse Sobbing. The Malvern, Iowa driver took the lead from Matt Boucher on a lap three restart and was not challenged the rest of the way.
Before that restart, a multi-car pileup saw Shane Stutzman and Eric Remple, among others, collected in turn one. Remple and Stutzman were both in the top five at the time, but they recovered to finish second and fifth.
Sobbing cruised to his second win of the season while Scott Carlson and Matt Boucher took third and fourth.
The sport mod feature saw veteran Scott Styskal take early command of the race lead. The David City, Nebraska driver led going into the first caution on lap nine for a two-car spin which involved defending track champion Shawn Harker.
A lap following the restart, Devyn Peterson took control of the race lead, and the Milford native scored a big feature win on his 20th birthday. It was Peterson’s first win of the 2020 season at I-80.
Styskal took second while Kayden Dirks, Bub Lerette and Logan Thomsen finished out the top five.
The compact feature on Friday was dominated by Chris Vannausdle. The driver from Villisca, Iowa fended off a big challenge from fellow Iowan Eric Hensley to score his first win of the season. Hensley had to settle for second while Jacob Schwab, Erica Krichau and Tammy Clark rounded out the top five.


Post Your Response View Messages
Log In
View dirtdrivers.com Membership Information

To post messages you must be logged in as a member of dirtdrivers.com.

View Copyright Infringement Contact Information

View Advertiser Index

Become a registered user of dirtdrivers.com!
 Register Now!

Dirt Driver Directory
Ever wondered what your favorite driver does for a living? When he or she started racing? What is behind the number on the car? You don't have to wonder anymore!
 View Dirt Driver Directory

Looking for any new or used racing parts? Check out our online classified section to help find the parts you need!
 View Classifieds

Suggestion Box
Have a suggestion for dirtdrivers.com? Send us an email or drop a suggestion into our Suggestion Box! We welcome your ideas!
 Visit Suggestion Box

© Copyright by dirtdrivers.com 2020.
All rights reserved. Reproduction of material appearing on this Web site
is strictly prohibited without written permission.